Causeway CS Student Awards 2020..

Causeway CS Student Awards 2020..

Causeway Comprehensive School Annual Awards 2020

The Student Awards Night for Causeway Comprehensive took place in the school during the week of September 14th. Although the ceremony could not take place last May as planned, we wanted to ensure that the culmination of the hard work and dedication of the students of Causeway Comprehensive School would be celebrated. During the week, students who received an award attended a presentation in their year group. Later in the week, awards were also presented to our past students who were recognised for their accomplishments while at Causeway Comprehensive School. There was a total of 150 awards presented during the week of the 14th of September. All students were congratulated in a number of short, socially-distanced ceremonies. The awards were presented by the Principal of Causeway Comprehensive, Mr. Cathal Fitzgerald.

Daniel Burke received the Senior Principal’s Award for Outstanding Student of the Year in Leaving Certificate while Sarah O Sullivan was the Junior Principal’s Award  as the  Outstanding Student at Junior Cycle. Emma Fitzgerald received the Canon Willie O'Connor Award for receiving the highest result in Irish in Leaving Certificate 2019. Kate Kearney received the John O' Regan Award for achieving outstanding results in the Leaving Certificate overall. Emma and Kate are both studying Sciences in UCC. Steven Daley won the Lucille O'Sullivan Award for his resilience and personal growth. Dylan Casey won the  Student Council Award in memory of the late Leonard O Donnell and Leah Dineen won the Spirit of the School Award in memory of the late Eileen Sheehan, whose family has made a major contribution to the school.

There were many other student awards presented during the week for areas including Sport, Book Club, Fundraising, Music and Culture, Attendance, and Diligence and Achievement. Colin Walsh of Ballyheigue, won the Senior Footballer of the Year Award. Sean Sheehan who plays hurling with Causeway, won the Senior Hurling Award and Sarah McCarthy of Ardfert, won both the Senior Camogie and Senior Football Player of the Year Award. Andrea Stack, won the Senior Basketball Player of the Year Award. The U16.5 categories for hurling and football were won by Ronan Walsh and Keltyn Molloy respectively. Leah Brennan, Leah Dineen and siblings Liam and Lisa Barrett received special awards for full attendance in their years at school. Awards for music were also given to Melanie Dineen Higgins (Ballyheigue) and Gerard Browne (Ballyduff).

The awards co-ordinator Marion Herlihy said "I am delighted that we were able to celebrate the brilliant accomplishments of the staff and students of Causeway Comprehensive School". School Principal Cathal Fitzgerald stated that “this year’s awards clearly demonstrated the huge commitment by staff and students to our school and the variety of talent that is within Causeway Comprehensive School, we felt it was important that we were able to celebrate and acknowledge these students at our school while keeping with the government guidelines. I would like to thank Ms Herlihy for organising theseawards under such difficult restrictions.”




Back to News